Network (Own Units)
Centres under NCSM
NCSM Centres Nationwide

NCSM has developed its own Nationwide network of 25 Science Museums/Centres. Among 25 centres, divided into North, South, East, North East and West Zones, there are 6 National Level Centres namely Science City, Kolkata, Birla Industrial and Technological Museum (BITM), Kolkata, Nehru Science Centre (NSC), Mumbai, Visvesvaraya Industrial and Technological Museum (VITM), Bengaluru, National Science Centre (NSC), Delhi and Central Research & Training Laboratory, Kolkata. Central Research & Training Laboratory (CRTL) based at Kolkata is the Council’s central hub for professional training, research and development. Except Science City, Kolkata other National Level centres have Regional and Sub-Regional/District Level centres under its control and are called Satellite Units (SUs).

Zone Wise list of NCSM centres and their Satellite Units are as below:


Science City

Name of the Centre Science City, Kolkata

East Zone

Name of the Centre 1.Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata
Satellite Units 2.ShriKrishna Science Centre, Patna
3.North Bengal Science Centre, Siliguri
4.District Science Centre, Bardhaman
5.District Science Centre, Purulia
6.Digha Science Centre, Digha


  7.Central Research and Training Laboratory, Kolkata
Satellite Units 8.Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar
9.Dhenkanal Science Centre, Dhenkanal and Kapilas Science Park

North Zone

Name of the Centre 10.National Science Centre, Delhi
Satellite Units 11.Regional Science City, Lucknow
12.Kurukshetra Panorama and Science centre, Kurukshetra
  13.Palampur Science Centre, Palampur

West Zone

Name of the Centre 14.Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai
Satellite Units 15.Raman Science Centre & Planetarium, Nagpur
16.Regional Science Centre, Bhopal
17.Goa Science Centre, Panjim
18.District Science Centre, Dharampur

South Zone

Name of the Centre 19.Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore
  20.Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut
Satellite Units 21.Regional Science Centre, Tirupati
22. District Science Centre, Gulbarga
  23.District Science Centre, Tirunelveli

North East Zone

Satellite Unit 24.Regional Science Centre, Guwahati




In addition to its own centres, NCSM has developed Science Centres/museums for different States and Union Territories of India. NCSM has also developed several centres and galleries for different Govt. organsiations such as ONGC, BEL, ICAR and also collaborated internationally for development of Museum/Science Centres or for galleries such as Rajiv Gandhi Science Centre, Mauritius, ‘India gallery on Buddhism’ at ‘International Buddhist Museum’, Sri Lanka etc. Today, NCSM forms the largest network of science centres and museums in the world.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24